A walking path takes you “from church to chapels” to discover the religious heritage of Châtel-St-Denis/ Les Paccots.
Built in 1319 but undergone through numerous transformations, the restoration finished in 1975. Visit this place with high esteem...
This Romanesque church, built at the end of the 12th century, has a framework covered in the Louis XVI style.
In the St-Nicholas cathedral vault, a lot of treasures are hidden… and as well some stories and legends to discover with its sacristan!
According to legend, if its 74 m tower is unfinished it is because there was no money left. A jewel of Gothic architecture, the cathedral was built between 1283 and 1490.
In Freiburg it has many small chapels. The most famous one is the Loretokapelle.
The former Augustinian Monastery is an important example of 13th century mendicant-order architecture and has splendid, more recent objects of art.
The Franciscan church, built in 1256, has a medieval interior of very high standing.
Cistercian abbey with church built in the 13th century. Church open to all.
This sixteenth century building is now an art gallery where a number of craftsmen come to exhibit their work, from Easter through to mid-October.
The Cantorama, or House of Song, is established in the Romanesque church of Jaun (Bellegarde in French), which dates back from the 13th century. It bears witness to the incredible richness of choral art in Fribourg.
The tower of the Church dates from the 11th century. It is built in the Romanesque style. The nave dates from the 15th century and is in the rural Gothic style.
In May 1906 almost the entire village of Plaffeien was destoryed by fire. The Catholic parish church was rebuilt and inaugurated in 1910, and ist the largest neo-Romanesque church in Canton Fribourg.
Stained glass of XIVth, XVth et XIXth century, Henri Broillet, Alexandre Cingria, Yoki and Sergio de Castro
Our top offers
Send to a friend
Communicate an error
Powered by MySwitzerland.com │ Privacy Statement