To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Panorama Bike: Charmey-Les Paccots

Properties of the itinerary

Length : 41 km

Striking Gruyères Castle from the 11th century and the Lac de la Gruyère – the hallmarks of the region – can bee seen close-up on this tour. The route leads around the Moleson, over Alpine meadows and through forest to Les Paccots.

Without a care you take off early in the morning, follow the mountain bike signs directing you to Bulle, until you smell something unusual – not freshly mowed grass or flowers in bloom. You smell chocolate! The Panorama Bike route passes the Cailler chocolate factory, and you know it because your nose will tell you. Gruyère cheese is not this region’s only popular culinary export.

This area of the Fribourg Alps is also famous for the picturesque Lac de la Gruyère, whose south end is briefly skirted by the route. The next landmark then comes into view: Gruyères Castle, towering majestically on the hill above the pretty medieval town. Those planning a detour here should also be sure to visit the nearby HR Giger Museum, dedicated to the Oscar-winning «Alien» creator.

But the stage through the Gruyère region has even more to offer than a chocolate aroma, castles and ghastly science fiction creatures. Now you will circle Moléson mountain. The striking rocky peak stands alone, high above the Gruyère area, and for us it marks the gateway to the Lake Geneva region. A mix of single trails and gravel roads takes us through the lovely scenery, almost forgotten somehow and overshadowed by fashionable towns such as Montreux and Gstaad. With this kind of competition, the small village of Les Paccots is easily overlooked – but for us, it is a perfect ending of today’s stage on the Panorama Bike route.

Properties of the itinerary

Length : 41 km

Download files

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Um Ihnen das beste Web-Erlebnis zu bieten, verwenden wir Cookies und Tracking-Technologien gemäss unserer Datenschutzerklärung.

Weitere Informationen

Panorama Bike: Charmey-Les Paccots

Eigenschaften der Route

Länge : 41 km

Das markante Schloss Gruyères aus dem 11. Jahrhundert und der Lac de la Gruyère – die Wahrzeichen der Region – können während der Tour aus der Nähe betrachtet werden. Die Route führt rund um den Moleson, über Alpweiden, durch Wälder nach Les Paccots.

Nichts ahnend rollt man frühmorgens los, folgt der Mountainbike-Beschilderung in Richtung Bulle, bis es für einmal nicht nach frisch geschnittenem Gras oder blühenden Blumen riecht, sondern nach Schokolade. Die Panorama Bike führt hier riechbar vorbei an der Fabrikationsanlage von Cailler, neben dem Käse der andere kulinarische Exportschlager aus der Region Gruyère.

Die Gegend in den Freiburger Alpen ist auch bekannt für den malerischen Lac de la Gruyères, dessen südliches Ende die Route in einer kurzen Schlaufe streift. Sodann rückt das nächste Wahrzeichen ins Blickfeld: das Schloss Gruyères, das auf dem Hügel über dem mittelalterlichen Bilderbuchstädtchen thront. Wer hier einen Abstecher einplant, sollte sich auch das benachbarte HR Giger Museum des Oscar-gekrönten Alien-Schöpfers nicht entgehen lassen.

Die Etappe durchs Greyerzerland hat aber noch mehr zu bieten als Schokoladenduft, Schlösser und schauderhafte Science-Fiction-Kreaturen. Auf dem Programm steht nun die Umrundung des Moléson. Der imposante Felsturm wacht alleine hoch über dem Greyerz und ist für uns die Eintrittspforte in das Gebiet des Genfersees. In einem Mix aus Singletrails und Schottersträsschen rollt man durch die irgendwie sympathisch vergessene Region im Schatten mondäner Regionen wie Montreux oder Gstaad. Der kleine Ort Les Paccots geht bei diesen Mitbewerbern gerne mal vergessen – für uns bildet er das passende Ziel der heutigen Etappe der Panorama Bike.

Eigenschaften der Route

Länge : 41 km

Dokumente zum Herunterladen

Einen Fehler melden

Weitere Informationen

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren