- 38,800 inhabitants in the town of Fribourg (82,700 agglomeration)
- 1157: the town of Fribourg was founded by Berchtold IV von Zähringen in 1157
- 2 languages: German and French
- 1 river: Sarine
- 6 towers, 7 gates, 7 sections of fortifications in Fribourg
- 14 bridges and 12 historic fountains
A walk from Freiburg/Fribourg train station to the lower town will reveal how “modernity” competes with the “Middle Ages”. The old town of Fribourg is deemed to be one of the most beautiful towns in Switzerland. Its location alone is enchanting: it nestles in an extremely picturesque location in the meander loop of the Sarine River and extends from the riverside via the lower town to the centre of the old town around the Cathedral.
The cantonal capital not only forms a cultural bridge between the German and French areas of Switzerland, it also boasts numerous bridges of special architectural interest.
There are 14 bridges in total in the urban area and the oldest were built in the 13th century. The newest, called Poya Bridge, which was completed in 2014, is an impressive cable-stayed bridge with the longest distance between two piers nationwide. It is this oldest bridge that leads to the Gottéron Valley - according to a legend, a dragon once lived there.
So it is no surprise that the Fribourg-Gottéron ice hockey team and its mascot, the dragon, originated here. The Gottéron Valley is an area of natural beauty and a recreational spot for town dwellers, tourists and people in search of peace and quiet.
Would you like to spend the night in a historic town hotel in old walls, a cosy B&B in the town centre or even in a monastery?
A hilly hike in the heart of the green Glâne district, where you can discover various churches and their remarkable, well preserved windows. The starting point is the Vitromusée in Romont.
This stage combines the two historic towns of Romont and Fribourg and goes past important places of pilgrimage. From St. Nicholas Cathedral in Fribourg via the Ste-Apolline Bridge to the Fille-Dieu Abbey in Romont.
The circular trail goes to what is probably the most beautiful monastery in Switzerland – the Hauterive Monastery. Pilgrims and guests are welcome here. Part of the hiking trail goes along the bank of the Sarine, then through rather wooded stretches. You can forget about time and the daily grind in the countryside here.
The medieval castle in Romont houses the Swiss Museum of Stained Glass and Glass Art. The collection comprises stained glass from the Middle Ages to the present day. Demonstrations and taster courses are held on a regular basis.
The village of Rue was built at the foot of a promontory on which a castle is situated, the former seat of the local lords. Rue lies on the route from Lake Geneva to Moudon and Avenches and is also a hub on the way to Romont. The first documented evidence of the medieval castle dates back to 1152 and the village was founded in 1264 by Peter II, Count of Savoy.
In the garden of the old mill in Villarimboud, “Le Pied Total” invites visitors to take part in a voyage of discovery. The bare foot trail is best discovered with the owner Frédéric Perritaz. Visitors who wish to spend the night in a tree bivouac are also in the right place here.