Have a walk through the smallest city of Europe and discover its history and monuments.
This walk takes about 1 hour.
The brochure of Rue "Enjoy a walking tour" is available at the Tourist Office of Romont, at the Commune Office in Rue and in some restaurants in the region.
The village of Rue is built at the foot of a rocky spur; the castle standing on it was home to the local lords. Located on the road from Lake Geneva to Moudon and Avenches, Rue also stands at the crossroads of the road to Romont. The earliest mentions of the mediaeval fortress date back to 1152 and the town was founded by Peter II, Count of Savoy, around 1264. The Savoy family occupied it until the region was annexed by Fribourg in 1536, at the same time as Romont. Rue was the first administrative centre of La Glâne district.