To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Charmey – Schwarzsee

Properties of the itinerary

Difficulty : Moderately difficult

Length : 17 km

Duration : 5: 00

This walk is one of the classics of the Fribourg Pre-Alps. You will cross the area once owned by the monks of La Valsainte and then follow the famous language boundary known as the Röstigraben.

The walk starts in the centre of the resort of Charmey. The history of the village is closely linked to both the production and ageing of Le Gruyère AOP cheese. Head towards the hamlet of Les Ciernes, along the road that plunges down into the Javro valley. Once you reach the hamlet, take the path to the right that runs along the road up on the hillside. This is a themed path that tells you about some of the remarkable trees in the area, among other things. When you reach “Les Blanruz”, continue along the road for a few metres and then head towards La Valsainte, to the left.

Carry on towards Auta Chia via La Pinte des Mossettes – listed in the Gault&Millau guide – and the Feguelénets alpine pasture. Note that “Charmey” and “Auta Chia” have the same origin, both names meaning pastures close to the mountain peaks. The path continues towards an alpine cheese-dairy, La Balisa, whose pasture was once managed by the bailiff of Romont on behalf of the lords of Fribourg. At this point, the names of the farms change and sound more German: you are now on the linguistic boundary, even though you have not yet left the French-speaking commune of Charmey. Head back down towards Schwarzsee via the path indicated, until you reach the main road. Once you get to the bottom, you can take the bus to Schwarzsee Bad or continue on foot along the lake to the resort of La Gypsera, at the other end of the lake.

Tip: you can take the Alpine bus from Charmey to La Valsainte.
From Charmey, you can also take the cable car to Vounetse, then head back down towards the Pré de l’Essert and the chapel to get back to La Balisa. This variant is less commonly used than the route described above.

Accessible by public transport: yes (recommended)
Accessible by car: yes (return by public transport is long)

Difference in height: + 840 m / - 661 m

Properties of the itinerary

Difficulty : Moderately difficult

Length : 17 km

Duration : 5: 00

Download files

External links

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

Charmey – Schwarzsee

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Difficulté : Moyen

Longueur : 17 km

Durée : 5: 00

Cette balade fait partie des incontournables des Préalpes fribourgeoises. Vous traversez les anciens territoires des moines de la Valsainte avant de suivre la frontière des langues, le fameux Röstigraben.

La randonnée commence au centre de la station de Charmey. L’histoire de ce village est intimement liée à la production et surtout à l’affinage du Gruyère AOP. Prenez la direction du hameau des Ciernes, sur la route qui s’enfonce dans la vallée du Javro. Au hameau, un sentier part sur la droite, longeant la route sur les hauteurs. C’est un sentier thématique qui vous renseigne notamment au sujet des arbres remarquables de la commune. Vers le lieu-dit « Les Blanruz », rejoignez pour quelques mètres la route, puis suivez la direction de la Valsainte, sur votre gauche.

Poursuivez vers l’Auta Chia en passant par la Pinte des Mossettes – cotée au Gault&Millau – et par l’alpage des Feguelénets. Notez que « Charmey » et « Auta Chia » possèdent la même origine, les deux noms indiquant des pâturages à proximité des sommets. Le sentier se poursuit vers une fromagerie d’alpage, celle de La Balisa, dont l’alpage était autrefois géré par le bailli de Romont pour le compte des seigneurs de Fribourg. Puis les noms des exploitations changent et prennent des consonances germanophones : vous vous trouvez sur la frontière linguistique, même si vous n’avez pas encore quitté la commune francophone de Charmey. Redescendez vers Schwarzsee par le sentier indiqué, jusqu’à la route carrossable. Arrivés en bas, vous pouvez prendre le bus à Schwarzsee Bad ou continuer à pied au bord du lac jusqu’à la station de la Gypsera, au bout du lac.

Le conseil : vous pouvez emprunter le Bus alpin de Charmey à La Valsainte.
Depuis Charmey, vous pouvez également prendre la cabine pour Vounetse, puis redescendre vers le Pré de l’Essert et sa chapelle pour rejoindre la Balisa. C’est une variante originale, moins courue que celle qui est décrite ci-dessus.

Accessible en transport public : oui (conseillé)
Accessible en voiture : oui (retour en transports publics long)

Dénivelés : + 840 m / - 661 m

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Difficulté : Moyen

Longueur : 17 km

Durée : 5: 00

Documents à télécharger

Liens externes

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser