To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Panorama Bike: Schwarzsee–Charmey

Properties of the itinerarie

Length : 15 km

Deep blue Lake Schwarzsee lies in a rock basin surrounded by rugged cliffs. Cross the language border and continue past the idyllically situated Carthusian monastery at Valsainte and on to the Pays de Gruyère, known worldwide for its cheese.

Nestling in a rugged, pre-Alpine landscape of striking rocks and gentle hills lies the Schwarzsee lake. The stage starts with a leisurely ride along the north shore, followed by a steep climb to the Balisa Pass.

Across flowery meadows and past several alpine farms, a mountain road leads us over the highest point of the stage. The multilingual names in this area tell us that we are now directly on the border between German-speaking and French-speaking Switzerland. The further we descend, the clearer this is.

With the solitary peak of the Moléson and the Fribourg pre-Alps in sight, we pass La Valsainte, Switzerland’s only existing Carthusian monastery, before finally reaching our day’s destination in Charmey. In this charming pre-Alpine village, French is in fact the main language. It is always fascinating how quickly one enters another cultural region in Switzerland.

Properties of the itinerarie

Length : 15 km

Download files

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

Panorama Bike: Schwarzsee–Charmey

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Longueur : 15 km

Situé dans une cuvette, le lac Schwarzsee, au bleu profond, est entouré de formations rocheuses abruptes. Votre itinéraire passe ensuite la frontière linguistique puis la chartreuse La Valsainte pour vous conduire dans la région de la Gruyère, mondialement célèbre pour son fromage.

Le Lac Noir est blotti au cœur d’une région préalpine escarpée où falaises imposantes côtoient de douces collines. Cette étape commence par un agréable trajet le long de la rive nord avant une côte qui monte à pic jusqu’au col de la Balisa.

Passant pâturages fleuris et plusieurs exploitations d’alpages, nous traversons le point culminant de cette étape sur une route d’alpage. Les noms des sites en plusieurs langues rappellent que l’on se situe juste à la frontière linguistique entre la Suisse allemande et la Romandie, ce qui est de plus en plus flagrant à mesure que l’on descend.

Le regard porté sur le sommet du Moléson, qui s’élève solitaire dans le paysage, et les Préalpes fribourgeoises, nous passons la Chartreuse de La Valsainte, le seul monastère actif des Chartreux en Suisse, avant d’atteindre Charmey, l’étape du trajet. Ce magnifique village préalpin est avant tout francophone et nous redécouvrons avec la même fascination la rapidité avec laquelle on passe d’une région culturelle suisse à une autre.

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Longueur : 15 km

Documents à télécharger

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser