To provide you with the best web experience, we use cookies and tracking technologies in accordance with our privacy policy.

More information

Panorama Bike: Charmey-Les Paccots

Properties of the itinerary

Length : 41 km

Striking Gruyères Castle from the 11th century and the Lac de la Gruyère – the hallmarks of the region – can bee seen close-up on this tour. The route leads around the Moleson, over Alpine meadows and through forest to Les Paccots.

Without a care you take off early in the morning, follow the mountain bike signs directing you to Bulle, until you smell something unusual – not freshly mowed grass or flowers in bloom. You smell chocolate! The Panorama Bike route passes the Cailler chocolate factory, and you know it because your nose will tell you. Gruyère cheese is not this region’s only popular culinary export.

This area of the Fribourg Alps is also famous for the picturesque Lac de la Gruyère, whose south end is briefly skirted by the route. The next landmark then comes into view: Gruyères Castle, towering majestically on the hill above the pretty medieval town. Those planning a detour here should also be sure to visit the nearby HR Giger Museum, dedicated to the Oscar-winning «Alien» creator.

But the stage through the Gruyère region has even more to offer than a chocolate aroma, castles and ghastly science fiction creatures. Now you will circle Moléson mountain. The striking rocky peak stands alone, high above the Gruyère area, and for us it marks the gateway to the Lake Geneva region. A mix of single trails and gravel roads takes us through the lovely scenery, almost forgotten somehow and overshadowed by fashionable towns such as Montreux and Gstaad. With this kind of competition, the small village of Les Paccots is easily overlooked – but for us, it is a perfect ending of today’s stage on the Panorama Bike route.

Properties of the itinerary

Length : 41 km

Download files

Report an error

More information

You may also be interested in

Afin de vous offrir la meilleure expérience web, nous utilisons des cookies et des technologies de suivi conformément à notre politique de confidentialité.

Plus d'info

Panorama Bike: Charmey-Les Paccots

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Longueur : 41 km

Durant ce tour, vous pourrez admirer de près l’impressionnant château de Gruyères du 11ème siècle et le lac de la Gruyère – les emblèmes de la région. La route mène autour du Moléson, par des pâturages et des forêts vers Les Paccots.

Le cœur léger, on part à la fraîche en suivant le sentier VTT balisé en direction de Bulle. Les parfums d’herbe fraîchement coupée ou de fleurs épanouies sont soudain relayés par des arômes de chocolat. Notre nez ne nous trompe pas, le Panorama Bike passe bien devant l’usine Cailler, autre grand exportateur gastronomique de la région de Gruyère, en plus de la marque de fromage.

La région des Alpes fribourgeoises est également connue pour son pittoresque lac de la Gruyères, dont notre itinéraire longe brièvement la pointe sud, tandis que l’emblème suivant ne tarde pas à apparaître dans notre champ de vision: le château de Gruyères, trônant sur une colline sur les hauteurs de cette petite ville médiévale, digne d’un livre d’images. Si vous prévoyez ici de faire un détour, ne manquez pas le musée HR Giger du créateur d’«Alien», primé aux Oscars.

Cette étape à travers la région de la Gruyère a néanmoins bien plus à offrir qu’un parfum de chocolat, des châteaux et des créatures de science-fiction à faire frémir. Notre programme inclut à présent le tour du Moléson. Ce rocher imposant dominant à lui seul le pays de Gruyère est pour nous la porte d’entrée dans la région du lac Léman. Dans un paysage proposant à la fois des singletrails et des chemins pierreux, on découvre une région oubliée au côté chaleureux, dans l’ombre de villes huppées telles que Montreux ou Gstaad. La petite bourgade Les Paccots souvent délaissée au profit de villes concurrentes, est pour nous une destination bienvenue pour l’étape de la journée du Panorama Bike.

Propriétés de l'itinéraire

Longueur : 41 km

Documents à télécharger

Signaler une erreur

Plus d'info

Cela pourrait aussi vous intéresser