Our rivers

River Sarine
Between the "La Tine" gorge and the rocky shores of Lake Schiffenen flows the River Sarine. Its course is dotted with vestiges of the region’s eventful history: the covered bridge in Lessoc, the cistercian abbey in Hauterive, and the medieval Old Town of Fribourg, to name but a few. The river may constitute a natural boundary, separating the French- and German-speaking communities, but for the people of Fribourg, the Sarine is the tie that binds.

Some propositions:
Hauterive circuit
The River Sarine and its bridges
Following the River Sarine from Fribourg to Laupen
Hauterive Abbey

The "Sense"
In a study, operated by the WWF, it was said that the river "Sense" is the most beautiful river in Europe. After the guidelines of this study, this river is one of the last natural rivers in the Alps. The "Sense" originates in Zollhaus in the canton of Fribourg, where the "warm Sense" – coming from Schwarzsee (1046 m) – and the "cold Sense" coming from Gantrisch (2175 m) – merge. Thereafter, it snakes for about 35 km down to the water mouth of the "Saane" in Laupen. According to specialists, the intercept from Zollhaus is fabulous.
Jogne gorges
Between Broc and Charmey, a forest path follows the course of the River Jogne up to the dam at Montsalvens.
More information

Waterway trails
These two nature trails, close to the city of Fribourg, offer a great outdoor experience that is both relaxing and educational in a setting, which is not only idyllic but often full of surprises.
More information

The Gottéron Gorge
Let the freshness of the Gottéron Valley invade you while crossing its savage and romantic gorges from the old town of Fribourg.
More information

The Chavanette Waterfalls
The Chavanette waterfalls, or "Chutes de Chavanette", are located in the Glâne district, near the medieval town of Rue. They are also known as the Broye waterfalls, or "Chutes de la Broye", in reference to the river that shapes them.
More information

Streams and rivers
Arbogne, Albeuve, Ärgera, Bibera, Bainoz, Biorde, Broye, Flon, Galtera, Gerigno, Glâne, Gottéron, Gérine, Hongrin, Javro, Jogne, Mortivue, Neirigue, Nesslera, Petite Glâne, Sarine, Singine, Serbache, Sionge, Sonnaz, Taverna, Trême and Veveyse.

Search and webcodes

This is your PERSONAL ASSISTANT: with only a few clicks you can put together your perfect stay in our region.

Whether you plan a trip to Paris or wish to visit Shanghai or Sydney next year – with our tailor-made suggestions for activities and accommodation suited to your profile you can be sure to make the best out of your stay!

Are you ready to define your main interests and to list the original experiences that you wish to experience in our region?

Whether you plan a romantic getaway or a memorable family vacation, whether you are a night owl or a morning lark – you will be thrilled by the accuracy of our suggestions.

Take a look at our additional and tailor-made suggestions around your destination, before you trace your itinerary on the map or on the proposal grid. They are synchronised in order to respond to your consultation preferences.

Nos rivières

La Sarine
Entre les gorges de la Tine et les falaises de Schiffenen, la Sarine appartient aux Fribourgeois qui ont donné une âme à cette rivière : un pont couvert à Lessoc, une abbaye cistercienne à Hauterive, une Vieille Ville à Fribourg… La Sarine se longe à pied ou à vélo, se suit et s’enjambe. De cette frontière naturelle, qui voudrait qu’on parle français à gauche et allemand à droite, les Fribourgeois ont fait un trait d’union.

Quelques propositions de randonnées:
Circuit d’Hauterive
La Sarine et ses ponts
Au fil de la Sarine de Fribourg à Laupen
Abbaye d'Hauterive

La Singine
Une étude du WWF a révélé récemment que la Singine est la plus belle rivière d’Europe. Selon les critères de l’étude, c’est l’une des toutes dernières rivières encore naturelles dans l’Arc alpin. La Singine naît à Zollhaus, dans le canton de Fribourg, de la rencontre de la Singine chaude venant de Schwarzsee (1046 m d’altitude) et de la Singine froide en provenance du Gantrisch (2175 m). Elle serpente ensuite sur 35 km jusqu’à son embouchure dans la Sarine à Laupen. Selon les spécialistes, le bas de la rivière après Zollhaus est fabuleux.
Les Gorges de la Jogne
Entre Broc et Charmey, juste à la sortie du village de Broc, un sentier forestier remonte le courant de la Jogne jusqu'au barrage de Montsalvens.
Plus d'informations

Les sentiers de l’eau
Les sentiers de l'eau sont deux parcours didactiques à proximité de la Ville de Fribourg, invitant le promeneur au délassement et à la réflexion dans un cadre bucolique et parfois surprenant.
Plus d'informations

Les Gorges du Gottéron
La vallée du Gottéron, un vrai oasis de fraîcheur en période de canicule! Traversez ses gorges sauvages et romantiques depuis la ville historique de Fribourg.
Plus d'informations

Les Chutes de Chavanettes
Les chutes de Chavanette sont situées dans le district de la Glâne, aux environs de la petite ville médiévale de Rue. Ces dernières sont également nommées chutes de la Broye, en référence au nom de la rivière qui les forme.
Plus d'informations

Les cours d’eau qui traversent le canton de Fribourg
l’Arbogne, l’Albeuve, l’Ärgera, la Bibera, le Bainoz, la Biorde, la Broye, le Flon, la Galtera, le Gerigno, la Glâne, le Gottéron, la Gérine, L’Hongrin, le Javro, la Jogne, la Mortivue, la Neirigue, la Nesslera, la Petite Glâne, la Sarine, la Singine, la Serbache, la Sionge, la Sonnaz, la Taverna, la Trême et la Veveyse.

Recherche et webcodes

Ce site est votre ASSISTANT PERSONNEL: en quelques clics, vous composerez votre séjour dans notre région à votre image !

Que vous planifiez une visite demain de Paris ou de Sydney l'année prochaine, vous maximiserez votre séjour avec nos propositions d’activités et d’hébergements sélectionnés selon votre profil.

Prêt à définir vos intérêts et les expériences insolites que vous aimeriez vivre dans notre région ?

Que vous envisagiez une escapade romantique ou un voyage mémorable en famille, que vous soyez un oiseau de nuit ou un adepte des sommets avant le lever du jour, vous serez surpris par la pertinence de nos suggestions.

Routard

Jetez un coup d’oeil à nos suggestions personnalisées complémentaires autour de votre destination avant de tracer votre route sur la carte ou la grille des propositions. Elles sont synchronisées pour répondre à vos préférences de consultation.